Bursary and Community Awards Winners Announced


Press Release 

For Immediate Distribution

Bursary and Community Awards Winners Announced

Awards Recognize Dedication and Excellence
in the Eastern Townships English-speaking Community

SHERBROOKE, September 7, 2017 – Townshippers’ Association will honour four winners of its 2017 community leaders awards and award health and social services bursaries to three deserving students at a special community celebration on September 16.

Community volunteers Clement Forest, Jo-Ann Öberg-Müller, and Nancy Robichaud, will be honoured as the 18th annual Outstanding Townshippers. This award is given to individuals and groups who have generously given of themselves, beyond the usual expectations of their job or profession, through volunteering, social activism, mentoring, or philanthropy, to make their community a better place to live, work and raise a family.

Alesha Grimes will receive the 13th edition of the Young Townships Leader Award, which highlights youth achievements, dynamism and involvement by celebrating young Townshippers, age 15 to 35, who have shown exemplary leadership. Winners of this award receive a framed certificate and $1,000 thanks to the support of our 2017 sponsors: the Lennoxville Youth Center, NAV Canada, Champlain College Lennoxville, Cass Funeral Homes, Global Excel Management, and with the participation of the Government of Canada.

Earning bursaries totaling $10,000 through the 2017-2018 McGill Health and Social Services Community Leadership Bursary Program are Marie-Soleil Larouche-Roberge, a nursing student at the Université de Sherbrooke, and Champlain Regional College Lennoxville students, Marie-Pier Latour-Latreille, who is studying special care counseling, and nursing student Brad-Lee Tanguay.

Townshippers’ two community leadership awards celebrate the dedicated, inspiring, and innovative grassroots efforts of people that have given time and resources to their community. All the winners have shown that they have had a positive impact and served as role models for others.

“This year’s winners embody our community’s grit and spirit and remind us that we all hold the power to be a force for good,” says Rachel Hunting, Executive Director, Townshippers’ Association. “We are humbled and inspired by their efforts.” 

McGill Health and Social Services Community Leadership Bursary Program

Created by the McGill University Training and Retention of Health Professionals Project and administered in the Estrie and Montérégie-East by Townshippers’, the bursary invests in the future of accessible care by supporting bilingual students.

Open to all full-time university, cégep/college or secondary/vocational school students in health and social service programs, there are two categories of awards available; Category 1 awards up to $10,000 to students from selected Quebec regions who are studying outside their region and; Category 2 awards up to $5,000 to students from select regions who are studying within their region.

Awards Evening

Awards and bursaries will be presented at a special community recognition event, a Townshippers Evening, held at 7:00 pm, Saturday, September 16, 2017, at The Piggery Theatre, 215 Chemin Simard, Ste. Catherine de Hatley. 

Sue Smith, host of CBC Montreal’s Homerun, will emcee the event.

This free event is open to the public. Refreshments will be available for purchase with proceeds benefiting The Piggery Theatre.  

RSVP online now at www.Townshippers.org/Awards or by calling 819-566-566-5717 (toll-free 1-877-566-5717).

About Townshippers’ Association

Townshippers’ Association is a non-profit, non-partisan community organization that has been serving the English-speaking community of the historical Eastern Townships, since 1979. For more on the Association and its activities, connect online at Townshippers.org or contact Townshippers’ in Sherbrooke at 100 – 257 Queen St. 819-566-5717, toll-free: 1-866-566-5717 or in Lac-Brome at 3-584 Knowlton Rd. 450-242-4421, toll-free: 1-877-242-4421.



Corrinna Pole
Communications Officer, Townshippers’ Association
819-566-5717 (toll free 1-866-566-5717), [email protected]


Don’t miss out;
opt-in to Townshippers’ Association’s media mailing list by clicking here, or scan the QR code on the left, to get breaking news and announcements directly in your email.